THIS IS U.S.

This is me, I’m a United States Citizen, hear me roar.
As of late, I have been treated differently than before.
The constitutional rights of some, should be ones for all.
Using liberty to deny freedom, democracy will then fall.

You can call me dramatic or belittle what I will think.
Your beliefs will be yours, but mine are not out of sync.
Rights given before, no longer given to me anymore.
Injustice and betrayal are what we must really explore.

The freedom of speech, expression, and press are key.
These are the freedoms that always promote diversity.
Diversity can consist of many different things, I know.
Having an identity and living truth, is nothing to forgo.

Betrayed by many, for finding out the truth I withheld.
Punished for speaking about injustice and then rebelled.
Not meaning to hurt anyone, I need to tell my own story.
Doing this will help me take back my life and my glory.

It’s hard to explain, some parents just don’t understand.
Still treating me like a child, to obey their every command.
What they think is best for me, will never be my own truth.
Everything will be corrected, once I visit the voting booth.

Some Republicans are terrorizing our county, without cause.
Treatment like this, will never ever gather my own applause.
Our country is founded on the togetherness that will unite.
This is a cause that we must all stand up for, united to fight.

Our founding fathers would be appalled at what we’ve done.
Focusing on terror abroad, when ours has only just begun.
Prosecuting parents with abuse, for supporting their child.
Then not letting people be themselves, instead just exiled.

Suppressing voting rights, not giving a voice to the people.
Justifying it, with the cross that is atop of the church steeple.
We have freedom of religion, but freedom from it, the same.
Separation between church and state is nothing to abstain.

We all have our beliefs, aspirations, and our very own dreams.
Taking the time to understand each other, we will find themes.
It is not our similarities, but our differences, where we unite.
This is a belief that I will give my life for and continue to fight.

Written by: Craig Dunkleberger

Leave a comment